my year in review

Wow what a year!!

Last year this time I was scrambling to get the last minute things done in preparation for my wedding Dec 30 and get Christmas done and it’s the busiest time of year for me at work … must be why this year feels so calm and organized πŸ™‚

I know I say it a lot but it is so true … being married to Paul is the easiest thing I have ever done πŸ™‚ … I had no idea marriage could be easy πŸ™‚ He compliments me so very well. He is great with the girls and where we have struggled we communicate and work it out.. no major fighting, no flying objects, no name calling … it’s wonderful! I don’t think we are on a “honeymoon” stage…being married with teenage girls would pop any unreal fairyland expectations one might have had! we certainly went into the marriage with our eyes wide open.. me knowing what I had on my plate and him being willing to take it all on, the good the bad the ugly! and now when we are home alone for the weekend it is him who is first to say ” I miss the girls, it’s so boring without all their noise and drama” … and it’s true, although this stage of parenting is full of challenges I wouldn’t have my life any other way.

family pic 1

 

This was the year of trips! from our Honeymoon in San Diego

paul and i honeymoon paul and i honeymoon 2

 

to the trip I won to Maui

maui paul and i maui 1

 

and in the summer I took the girls plus my friends 3 kids to the Oregon Coast for the 3rd summer in a row, and this year one of my new sister in laws and niece in laws and 2 little great nephews in law came with us! I unfortunately was sick most of the time so I didn’t get to enjoy it like I normally did but it was so great to spend time with my new family who I love so very much!

oregon camping 1 oregon camping 2

 

In the summer I had my busiest time for work to date .. it was crazy like cra cra crazy and on top of it all we gained and quickly lost a son. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of him and what he could have been but knowing he is in heaven and perfect ( he had trisomy 22) I know that he is in the best place imaginable and I will see him again!

In the fall we were off for another trip πŸ™‚ this time we drove over 2,000 miles there and back and a little mini road trip in the middle to go visit Paul’s family and friends in California

sorry for the blurry photo

california 1 jpg california

 

and then not too long after our return Paul and I headed to Mexico with my parents and Β 3 sisters and 2 brother in laws … what a great trip! besides getting sick and lots of rain… being all together was amazing and we made some great memories

mexico family in mexico

 

So you can see why this was the year of trips!! And we are finishing the year with a little weekend away to the San Juan Islands for our 1 year Anniversary.

We are blessed. We have had our struggles with typical teenage girl drama, loss of a very wanted baby and all that comes with life but we make a great team and I know that whatever 2014 brings us, we can handle it, together!

family pic 2

About lisehouweling1

On a new journey and therefore a new blog was the order of the day! I love to write. I love to express myself. I love to brag on my family. This is my journey. My expression. Hoping that somehow someway maybe I can help a person or 2.
This entry was posted in Family, Pictures, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment