words

1508119_246437452192887_1413757596_n

I saw this picture on Facebook this morning and it’s so fitting for what I have been mulling over wanting to blog about when I finally had the time to sit still.

Words! they are so important.

I was raised in a charismatic Christian home, the importance of words has been drilled into me for as long as I can remember. “life and death are in the power of the tongue”, I was taught that words could lift up or tear down and to choose our words very carefully … we were not allowed to say “my foot is killing me” … cuz it was a negative confession… or say ” I feel sick” cuz we shouldn’t be moved by how we feel but by the power of His word… I could go on and on… but I think you get the picture.

In my life or what I am starting to refer to as my previous life as the one I am living today doesn’t even come close to how I spent so many many years … words were spoken a lot and there was power behind them in the fact that they hurt, stripped down, crushed and in the end became empty. Today I do not live in that same atmosphere but it’s amazing to me how the effect of words spoken lingers.

Today I watch my girls struggle with certain things, raising these teen girls is definitely my life’s biggest challenge so far!! and the power words have and don’t have is fascinating to me. The language the kids speak today is far from what I spoke as a kid … I don’t get most of it to be honest as I am sure mine was so different from what my parents spoke in their day.

I am trying to teach the girls the importance of saying what you mean and mean what you say… they are clever with words, too clever! the come backs and insults that fly back and forth between them is fast and furious sometimes… words they speak that I didn’t want to know they knew!

Words have the power to heal and the power to destroy.

This is one of my daughters favourite songs right now …. totally a sad song but by her telling me what songs she is listening to over and over I get a little picture of where she is at.

Say Something

Sometimes the words with the most power are the ones that are not spoken at all… words that you wait to hear, long to hear, words that may never come.

and suddenly all the words that I wanted to use on this post …. are gone.

Sometimes maybe it’s time for quiet and reflection and not use words at all.

About lisehouweling1

On a new journey and therefore a new blog was the order of the day! I love to write. I love to express myself. I love to brag on my family. This is my journey. My expression. Hoping that somehow someway maybe I can help a person or 2.
This entry was posted in Family, Life Lessons, New Beginnings, ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

