raising teen girls.. the saga

ImageIt is safe to say that raising these teen girls of mine by far is my life’s biggest challenge. Daily I have anxiety, worry, stress and heart palpitations in regards to my teen girls! ๐Ÿ™‚

They have given me permission to blog about it .. I have been careful to not say too much as this is very much my own journey that I am documenting and at no time have I ever felt the freedom to embarrass them or publicly “talk” about them.. then I mentioned about blogging about the journey of being a mom to teen girls and they said it was fine .. so I will do my best to document without exposing ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

I think right now my biggest challenge is not just with the drama that my own hooligans cause but their friends!! and I find myself asking the question…. WHERE ARE THEIR PARENTS?! …. ย  quickly followed by … WHY DO I NEED TO KNOW THESE THINGS… and again … WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO WITH THIS INFORMATION … yup it’s awesome.

Girls = drama

13-16 girls = drama to the millionth degree

add to that equation, boys, and you are off the charts in the drama department

The hard part is that to them all this is so real, so very much the “end of the world” and while I listen and internally shudder at what I find out, I try to reinforce to them that one day they will look back and roll their eyes at how silly all this really is. To them right now I am an archaic dinosaur that could not possibly comprehend what they are going through. Thing is… I am not that old ๐Ÿ™‚ It wasn’t THAT long ago that I stood in front of the mirror liking what I saw and hating it at the same time. I remember the internal struggles, the rage of emotions that are only too real in a teenage girl’s body and mind. One moment so and so is your best friend and the next your mortal enemy! One day your hair is perfect and the next no matter how hard you try you cannot contain the bump in your ponytail and instead of being a small not noticeable bump you feel EVERYONE can see the massive imperfection in your hair. I remember trying on every outfit and literally yelling at myself WHY ARE YOU SO UGLY AND FAT .. yup I was a crazy teenage girl and I remember the battle, the pressure and the mood swings ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

My girls tell me that their friends do not confide in their parents as mine do with me. I wonder why? I wonder why this is, why I hardly see any of their parents and the friends are at my house ALL the time .. like seriously I feed them all the time! I have the bare pantry to prove it! It’s one of those situations that I am glad they are at my house cuz I can keep an eye on them .. you know like checking the backpacks at the door!! but there are times when we have plans to go out and we have to quickly change them as more and more kids show up at my front door.ย 

as my girls are 11, 13 & 15 … my almost 20 year old doesn’t live at home any more … this post will be about a 9 year long to be continued!!ย 

About lisehouweling1

On a new journey and therefore a new blog was the order of the day! I love to write. I love to express myself. I love to brag on my family. This is my journey. My expression. Hoping that somehow someway maybe I can help a person or 2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to raising teen girls.. the saga

  1. Shash says:

    I am so glad I mostly have boys. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

